Guests from Lookingglass Theatre's gglasquerade 30 gala celebration in 2018 (photo by Adam Blaszkiewicz).

Lookingglass Theatre to Present Annual Gala gglassquerade 2020: "Cabinet of Curiosities"

Lookingglass Theatre’s Board of Trustees and Gala Committee will present gglassquerade 2020: Cabinet of Curiosities.  The 2020 gala will celebrate more than 30 years of creating professional, ensemble-based theater in Chicago. 

​Routinely heralded as one of the top galas in Chicago, Lookingglass’ annual gglassquerade gala brings together more than 300 prominent community leaders in celebration of the theater’s mission to change, charge, and empower. The 32nd Annual gglassquerade will begin with cocktails and silent auction at 6:00 p.m., followed by dinner, the awards ceremony and live auction at 7:30 p.m.

Emceeing gglassquerade 2020: Cabinet of Curiosities will be ensemble member Anthony Fleming III. This year’s Civic Engagement Award recipients are Northern Trust for its extraordinary commitment to arts and culture in Chicago, and Chicago native Bonnie Hunt, acclaimed TV and film actor, writer, and producer who is a champion for authentic and accessible storytelling.

Chicago’s corporate, cultural, and civic leaders will gather together for an evening of cocktails, an elegant dinner, and live and silent auctions. The funds raised from gglassquerade directly support Lookingglass’ education and community programs through its Department of Curiosity. Each year, Lookingglass serves more than 5,600 students, teachers, and community members in partnership with more than 20 community-based organizations and 70 classrooms across the city.

The Co-Chairs are Kathleen B. Fanning, Chief Financial Officer of Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill Architecture LLP, Michael Harrington, Private Equity Investor, and Catie Walsh, Director of Sales and Marketing, Waldorf Astoria Chicago. The Honorary Co-Chairs are Allegra E. Biery, Illinois President of Wealth Management, Northern Trust Corporation, and Joan and Paul Rubschlager.

Previous gglassquerade honorees include civic leaders Leigh and Henry Bienen; Josephine Lee, President and Artistic Director of the Chicago Children’s Choir; Chicago-based artist Theaster Gates; prominent Chicago philanthropists Joan and Paul Rubschlager and Barbara Bradford and Robert Sherman; former Lookingglass Executive Director Rachel E. Kraft; world renowned chef Rick Bayless; “This American Life” radio host Ira Glass; Steppenwolf Theatre Company Artistic Director Martha Lavey; Commissioner Lois Weisberg; and comedian, writer, actor, and television host Stephen Colbert.

Glassquerade 2020 is generously supported by the Host Committee, including to date: Rick and Deann Bayless, Stephen Colbert and Evelyn McGee Colbert, Michael Harrington and Anne Pramaggiore, Northern Trust, Joan and Paul Rubschlager, Nancy and Michael Timmers, Walter Family Foundation, and Wintrust. The Grand Benefactors include: BMO Harris Bank, Bank Leumi, Richard Ditton, Exelon, Joseph and Bessie Feinberg Foundation, Lee and Sandy Golub, Kirkland & Ellis, and Steve and Lorrayne Weiss.

gglassquerade 2020 will be held on Friday, April 3, 2020, at 6:00 p.m. at Loews Chicago Hotel, 455 N Park Drive.Tickets can be purchased online at, or by emailing Gala Patron tickets are $1,250 each and Artistic Advocate tickets are $2,500.