This spring, the One-Minute Play Festival, in association with The Den Theatre, will present the 5th Annual Chicago One-Minute Play Festival playing two nights only Wednesday, April 29 and Thursday, April 30, 2015 at 8 p.m. at The Den Theatre.

The festival will showcase an intriguing marathon of one-minute plays by nearly 60 established and emerging Chicago playwrights, commissioned for the Festival and prompted by #1MPF’s unique playmaking process. 

It will also feature works by Brooke Allen, Axel Arth, Andrew Bailes, Scott T. Barsotti, Nambi E. Kelley, and Tony Werner, among a host of other notable and accomplished playwrights.

​“I’m just thrilled to be working with our new collaborators at the Den Theatre,” notes Dominic D’Andrea, #1MPF producing artistic director. “To see the festival grow to include sixty playwrights, a dozen directors, and scores of actors is just thrilling. The wonderful thing about doing this work in Chicago is that collective community investigation into who we are in this moment, what we care about, and where we might be going. This cohort of writers took the opportunity to really engage in the investigation, so audiences will be in for a true look at where we are right now. That’s exciting to share!,” adds D’Andrea. 

Among the directors that will be included the festival are Taylor Bailey, Erica Barnes, Sydney Chatman and Lee Stark.

One of the country’s largest and longest running short form theater companies,  the One-Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) is presented as is a “social barometer project,” which investigates the zeitgeist of different communities through dialogue and consensus-building sessions and a performance of 70-100 short moments. #1MPF works in partnership with theaters sharing playwright, educational or community-specific missions across the country. Their aim is to create locally sourced playwright-focused community events, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion. The company is diverse and inclusive, representing playwrights of different age, gender, race, cultures and points of career.

Notable contributors to the project have included: David Henry Hwang, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies and nearly 1,000 celebrated emerging and midcareer playwrights.

​For more information about the upcoming festival or for tickets, visit

One of the many short works on display in this year's One Minute Play Festival at Den Theatre (photo courtesy of One Minute Play Festival).

"Social Barometer" One Minute Play Festival Set to Spotlight Talented Chicago Playwrights